Results tagged “Instant Messaging” from SpywareGuide Greynets Blog

Block Checker Download - Avoid!

|
"Block Checkers" are those wonderful scam sites that claim to be able to show you who has you down as "blocked" on your favourite IM application. They've been around for a while, but always take the form of a website that you enter your details on. Once you've entered your login, you can expect to see your IM account sending lots of spam for viagra (along with adverts for the block checker site you used) to all of your contacts.

It's a rather spectacular way to lose all your friends on Instant Messaging (and quickly answers the question of "Who is blocking you". Answer: everybody).

Well, some wily individual has taken inspiration from the static webpages and come up with a Block Checker in the form of an executable file. However, this one has somewhat more sinister intentions than spamming links to a useless block check website with the occasional advert for a genuine rolex watch.

Shall we take a look?

mobbkck1.jpg

"MSN Block Checker", from Microsoft Corp. A quick check - aha - will reveal a different story:

mobbkck2.jpg

"MsnFake"? Oh dear. Here's what the program looks like when fired up:

mobbkck3.png

Do you want to see the obligatory fake error message that appears when you enter your Windows LIVE ID and hit "Sign in"? Of course you do.

mobbkck4.png

Faintly humorous that they left "MsnFake" in the popup box. Examining the code of the program rather gives the game away:

mobbkck5.png

Yes, your LIVE ID login will be mailed back to base. Given that your Windows LIVE ID could be associated with your IM account, your EMail, XBox Live and a bunch of other stuff this could be a Very Bad Thing(TM).

One bright spot here is that the program is being distributed in pieces - that is, as a collection of files and images that need to be compiled once you've entered the EMail address you want the stolen logins sent to. Here's what the typical wannabe user will see immediately after downloading it:

mobbkck6.png
Click to Enlarge

Hopefully this will result in lots of people creating absolutely unusable infection files, but it pays to be on your guard. NEVER, EVER run a "Block Checker" program because generally speaking a scam based on a scam is not a good thing to get tangled up in.

We detect this file as Mob.Blockcheck.

Back To The Drawing Board

|
1mkmsn.jpg
Click to Enlarge

While looking into a set of hacking tools recently, I came across a set of screenshots pasted into the creator's image gallery. They're a series of pictures detailing the various steps involved in the process of creating a fake MSN Live application.

We've removed quite a few duplicates (and blanked one or two things out) but if you want to experience the rather surreal sensation of watching someone create a data theft tool, click here to view the gallery.

It's yet another "login here to send all your contacts endless amounts of spam" website. This one is called

meetyourims.com

...and looks like all the other ones.

meeturim1.jpg
Click to Enlarge

Created on the 3rd of April 2009, there's also a curious addition to their (always changing) Terms & Conditions:

"You also understand that by temporarily accessing your msn account, CSS Management Inc. is NOT agreeing to MSN's terms of use and therefore not bound by them."


Comical...
Yesterday we came across something we haven't seen before - a fake Instant Messaging program used to share stolen data to the masses via the wonders of FTP. Let's begin by introducing iMess:

imess1.jpg

As you can see, there's two parts to this - the iMess application that steals your MSN login, and "HQ" - the file that lets you grab said stolen data.

This is what the iMess program loading screen looks like when fired up, rather humorously using what appear to be ripped versions of Smilies from the ASK range of products, along with a list of "features" such as "Anti Block System" and "Hundreds of skins":

imess3.jpg
Click to Enlarge

It's all very slick, and designed to set the end-user at rest. No scam looks that professional, surely?

Well, actually...

imess4.jpg

....whoops, it does. Note that it's called iMess2 - no idea what happened to the first one, but perhaps that's another confidence trick. At any rate, if you enter your login details, you'll see that staple of rogue applications - the fake error message:

imess10.jpg

While this is taking place, it's probably a good time to crack open the code and see what's taking place:

imess2.jpg

Did your MSN login details just get sent to an FTP server in the Netherlands? I think they did.

Want to see where they end up? Sure you do! Time to fire up the "HQ" program - which is used as nothing less than a sort of communal sharing zone for stolen logins. Put simply, if you run HQ, you can see ALL of the stolen logins obtained around the World and sent to the FTP server.

"HQ" stands (rather appropriately enough) for "Headquarters". First you'll see the below - a splash page of sorts, telling you the last time the stolen data was "cleaned" (ie tidied up), with two buttons - "Contact" and "Accounts".

imess5.jpg
Click to Enlarge

It's the accounts we're interested in...

imess8.jpg

As you can see above, there are a number of buttons across the top. Simply hit "Connect" to connect to the FTP server, then hit "Get list" and all of the accounts stolen via this program are displayed in the bottom panel. If you want the password for any of the accounts, left click one then press "Show" and...

imess9.jpg

The login details are yours for the taking. From there, you can use the stolen logins to send spam or infection links via those accounts, dip into EMails that use the same logins (harvesting any additional data / logins stored inside) ....the choice is yours.

It's a common theme of phishing scams (for example) that a ringleader effectively orders the troops to go out and phish under the illusion they get something at the end of it, when in reality the person at the top of the chain keeps all the data.

Here, we have a bizarre example of using rather slick faked IM technology, sharing stolen data with the masses "for the greater good" (in the loosest sense of the phrase of course - there's nothing particularly "good" about this).

Hang onto your MSN Login details and avoid this program.
Someone has created a couple of fake applications currently in the wild, both made to look like legitimate chat programs. They're pretty convincing:

fkaim1.jpg

fkaim3.jpg

We've seen these kinds of scams before, and as with those programs, when the victim enters their details they're stored locally on the PC (in this case, storing them in Settings.ini) for the attacker to collect.

Though this means physical access to the PC is required (think net cafe scammers hawking around unsecured PCs), for around 5$ you can buy an upgraded version which sends the stolen data to an FTP server.

Okay, I hear you cry - how do we spot these particular nasties?

Well, it seems vanity has got the better of the creator. They just couldn't resist putting in a "hidden" about page that tells you who made them - presumably for bragging rights on forums.

This works great for us, especially when I do so enjoy randomly clicking around on the surface of rogue programs just in case something amazing pops up.

As luck would have it...

fkaim2.jpg


fkaim4.jpg


Thanks, vain hacker type person. Obviously, this will only work where you're presented with a PC running either of the above, but it's better than nothing...

More MSN Login Harvesting...

|
Here we have the latest in a long line of scam sites wanting your MSN Login details so they can send URLs to everyone on your contact list. Here's a screenshot of one such message:

cpi1.jpg

Click the link, and you're taken to

crazy-party.info

cpi2.jpg
Click to Enlarge

Interestingly, the previous set of websites (all six billion of them) were supposedly run by a company in Panama, but as you can see here, the site was actually controlled by a group in China with ties to all sorts of dubious practices. This time round, the company isn't named as "TST Management", but "TP Limited". The information on the Whois data shows the site was registered fairly recently (7th of November 2008), and is registered to "Topyaa".

I'm sure we haven't seen the last of these...