Results matching “Internet Optimizer” from SpywareGuide Greynets Blog

Here's a website called

GamingHarbor.com

which is a site claiming to offer "free games" in return for installing a Toolbar. The site is owned by a company called based in Cheung Sha Wan, Hong Kong.

Aside from the rather suspect "Limited Time" notice on the splash page (does anyone actually believe claims like that?) and the fact that certain links taking you to the page will claim "for your region only" messages despite the fact that anyone can clearly download it from anywhere, the biggest bit of truth stretching is reserved for the large image splash guaranteed to get any gamer salivating:

Oblivion! Dead Rising! Fable 2! Grand Theft Auto 4! You're not actually going to get any of these games, but who cares - if they convinced a passing user to download and install this Toolbar on the strength of that graphic then "Dubious Marketing 101" has done its job.

The program itself comes from

desktopsmiley.com

...and continues to put the idea into the mind of the downloader that there'll be some sort of console related "bonus" at the end of all this by making the Executable look like the buttons on a Playstation 2 joypad:

gharbor2.jpg

The installer splash screen continues this trend - not content with riffing off the back of what might be the most famous joypad related button icons in memory, they then throw in what's clearly designed to be an XBox 360 joypad graphic too:

ghrbz100.jpg
Click to Enlarge

The Playstation button icons floating off directly above it is a nice touch, I guess. Anyway, we're only moments away from must be some amazing console type deal and then...

gharbor3.jpg

....horror of horrors! For some reason, they don't want this to be installed on a virtual PC! Could this be because they really don't want people like myself testing it then telling the World how bad a deal it is?

Oh well, time to break out a real PC then. You'd think people would learn by now that if someone wants to test something, then they're going to test it. Anyway...

gharbor4.jpg

...wait. Internet optimizers, cashback assistants and media access startup? What are those? Why do I want them? Who knows, but wading through the EULA that's practically biblical in length doesn't really help. Onwards and upwards, we agree to the install and then...


Oh good. Bingo., originally uploaded by Paperghost.

...we find the Toolbar is indeed installed, and our browser is taking us to a website about bingo. The fact that there's no visible sign anywhere on the desktop in relation to optimizers or cashback assistants doesn't trouble our gamer - he just wants to go PEW PEW a lot. With that in mind, he jumps over to the other side of the Toolbar and clicks what must be the answer to his prayers:

gharbor6.jpg

Call it a hunch, or some magical form of intuition - but despite another image of an XBox controller, I suspect this is going to end badly. Sure enough:



Wait, this isn't GTA4!, originally uploaded by Paperghost.

...our confused gamer is taken to

myfreegamespage.com

which (it's fair to say) probably isn't the magical console games factory he was expecting.

What we're left with, is a collection of mind blowingly awful games that in no way, shape or form represent the titles splashed all over the main GameHarbor website. Some require you to download gaming clients then hose 150MB of your bandwidth to play things that are probably bested by free flash games; others will probably make our Toolbar toting gamer rip his hair out as he's installed a Toolbar to "play free games", only to find...

gharbor8.jpg

...he has to either play "free" for an hour, or BUY the "unlimited version" for $6.99.

You couldn't make it up. But then you don't have to, as the face punching reality of lame advertising that promises much and delivers little is already with us.

Avoid this harbour like the plague - the real thing is much better, and you don't have to worry about Internet Saving Optimizers, either...

IST Adware Via WMV Files

|

Are you interested to downloadable movie clips? Many people are so be alert!

During the course of research, I tried googling for some popular video albums, I came across a forum that holds many articles and download links based on the users interests. More than ten thousand members are sharing their articles and download links in this forum. Many of these are what you might call spicy material. I suddenly paused when I found a fellow who was posting many adult video clips. Most of the download links are from Rapidshare

Rapidshare is a domain where people can upload / download files of up to 45GigaBytes.

I picked up one of the threads which appeared on May 22, 2006.

http://blog.spywareguide.com/upload/2006/05/ISTAdwareThroughWMVFile/jimpolk-thumb.gif

Jimpolk , the user name of the person who posted the thread did not give any personal information and he is not the member of any public group in the pakkadesi forum so I can deduce this might be a marketing attempt.

http://blog.spywareguide.com/upload/2006/05/ISTAdwareThroughWMVFile/infectionurl-thumb.GIF

I received two download links, which hold the same video clips and I selected via the rapidshare link.

I downloaded the clip and played it using Windows Media Player. It suddenly began acquiring a license rather than opening the media.

http://blog.spywareguide.com/upload/2006/05/ISTAdwareThroughWMVFile/acquiringLicense-thumb.gif

I used Netpeeker to track what is happening with my Media Player and the report showed the Windows Media Player making contact with ysbwebcom to install IST Adware products

http://blog.spywareguide.com/upload/2006/05/ISTAdwareThroughWMVFile/netpeeker1-thumb.GIF

All becomes apparent when an Active X Control pops up. The Active X control is signed by Integrated Search Technologies. (Note: This does not mean a control is safe- only signed.)

http://blog.spywareguide.com/upload/2006/05/ISTAdwareThroughWMVFile/ActiveX-thumb.GIF

They did not allow me to view the video without installing the IST adware.

http://blog.spywareguide.com/upload/2006/05/ISTAdwareThroughWMVFile/License-thumb.gif

The EULA was last updated on May 4, 2006 (Incidentally the very same date which Jimpolk registered in the pakkadesi forum), which is a very recent move by Integrated Search Technologies to distribute their Advertisements. People can also check out EULA Analyzer Beta to help analyze agreements.

Users will need to agree to a license that enables the installment of several applications. These include ISTbar , SlotchBar , YourSitebar and Xxxtoolbar. This is just to view one movie!

They may also install their third parties adware products like Internet Optimizer and SurfAccuracy.

I picked up the network traffic, which helped me to find determine IST might be affiliated with some people who are distributing the WMV files. Of course, it could also be an account set-up for internal analysis.

POST /v7.aspx?id=65181&filename=Desi_bhabhi_******.wmv&affiliate_id=1000656:1913 HTTP/1.1
Content-Type: application/x-www-form-urlencoded
User-Agent: SendHTTP
Host: drm.ysbweb.com

GET /ist/scripts/license.php?key_id=&filename=Desi_bhabhi_******.wmv&affiliate_id=1000656%3a1913 HTTP/1.1
User-Agent: SendHTTP
Host: www.ysbweb.com

Since there is large demand for adult entertainment online it comes as no surprise, companies are distributing their products through pornographic video clips. Likewise it is not surprising people are trying to earn money by becoming an affiliate for adware companies like IST. (In this case, by uploading their movies in sites like rapidshare.) The user, JimPolk, may be one among them who gets their pocket money just by distributing adware through the video clips.

The lesson here is that free often carries a steeper price tag than what you might think- the trade-offs are often hidden. Think before you click and ask yourself is downloading several applications that will throw pop-up ads, make trade-offs in your privacy, and slowing down your computer worth the video you are about to download? Also consider you will have to endure this software long after the video is gone.