- A Strange Way to Disclose Your Service
We've had a few reports of the (now familiar) style of site that asks you to enter your MSN Messenger details in return for being informed who "has you blocked". The site in question is called
Not only is it a bad idea to simply fill in ANY login details on a random website you happen to come across, I don't think I've ever seen a single website offering this "service" actually carry it out successfully.
On the bright side, the site does offer you some terms of service to look at before you sign up:
Sadly, it all goes horribly wrong when you realise half the text is hidden behind the image on the right hand side:
The site does this in both IE and FireFox. Can't say I've ever seen that before. Note that the really important part (that says your messenger contacts will be sent adverts via MSN) just happens to be hidden by the graphic. Here's how it reads with the text obscured:
By using this service you optin receiving email advertising from blockdelete.com. will receive an advertising message from you when you use this service.
Without the hidden first part, an end-user could potentially think it's talking about the opt-in Emails you receive when using the service. Now let's add the missing section back in:
By using this service you optin receiving email advertising from blockdelete.com. Your messenger contacts will receive an advertising message from you when you use this service.
A bit of a difference!